Dear Mom, From Your Puppy

This is the letter my daughter, Sheryl Wilson, received recently from her puppy, Yogi.  He’s a 3- month-old australian shepherd, with quite a personality.  Sheryl’s other dog, mentioned in the letter, is Shante, a 7-year-old American Eskimo.  Just had to share:

Hey mom;

I wanted to write you a note to let you know I’m a little disapointed in your behavior this morning. You’re looking a little rough and acting like you did all the work yesterday. So I think you need a little reminding:
I was the one who went on their first walk yesterday. Let me tell you, it’s no easy feat to run circles around you and Shante and make sure that you two get tangled up and not me, all the while holding her leash in my mouth so I can lead her around.

Then I go home, expecting a little down time, but no, we were under attack. An assault came in the form of a huge stick. I went into puppy ninja mode and had to take it down. I growled, I bit, and I tore apart those bristles. No broom is gonna come into my house and threaten my family.

After this home invasion, I tried to lay down again, but what is that I hear? I can’t believe it, yep that damn vacuum has the nerve to show its face again. After last times beat down I was sure I’d seen the last of it. However, this time it came out with a vengeance. I attacked it over and over, but it wasn’t going down without a fight. I then saw the open closet and knew my best bet was to herd it in there. It was dicey for awhile, but I finally got the job done. I don’t think we’re going to see that damn thing for awhile.  Whew puppy saved the day again.

I guess you didn’t realize I was saving all of our lives because you brought out the mop and decided to clean. I knew you weren’t strong enough to push, so being the gallant puppy I am, I had to jump on top and push the mop for you. Next time, please ask me before you start a project you can’t do yourself!

Finally, after a long day it was time for bed. Don’t get me wrong, I love sleeping in your bed, but if you could keep your legs on your side I would really appreciate it.  I’d worked hard and needed my sleep.  Unfortunately, I’m not sure if it was my life- threatening altercations with the broom or the vacuum that gave me nightmares.  I just found myself crying and kicking out in my sleep.  Luckily, you heard the cries of your warrior and pulled me up next to you.  I felt myself calm down, go limp in slumber, and start to drift off….when wait!  What was that cool air ruffling my hair coming from? Oh, you have a fan, pointed directly at you so you can be cool and comfy.  I guess no consideration is given for your true life hero that saves you on a daily basis!  Well, in your slumber you forgot about my stealth ninja moves. It took a little maneuvering and, yes, a few swift kicks to the side of your face, but I was victorious in shoving you off the pillow and enjoying the benefits of my labor.

I had a wonderful night of sleep and woke up ready to defend your honor. But no! All you said was “it’s 5 am, go away!” The gall…..well, you enjoy your pitiful sleep and you better hope that ninja puppy takes pity on you and will save you again. Try to remember to honor and pamper those that save you every day.

Sincerely,

your puppy (Yogi)

IMG_1532

Leave a Reply

